Don’t know what to do with all your zucchini?

I didn’t plant any zucchini in my garden – I planted two yellow squash plants, which are producing at an acceptable but not out of control rate.  A few weeks ago, I traded some yellow squash for zucchini from a friend who has two zucchini plants that just basically exploded, growing full size fruits almost overnight.

Here is a solution for both of us.

Most people run out of ideas for zucchini after the first two weeks of harvesting.  They’ve done a dozen stir-frys, grilled zucchinis, breads, muffins, lasagnas, etc and they are at their wits end.  Then, there’s the second group, the group which I fall into, which is the “All I want for dinner is a bowl of spaghetti” group.

Zucchini Fettucini

  • Peel 1 to 2 zucchini with a vegetable peeler into long ribbons.  Stop peeling when you get to the seedy center.  You can cube that part and freeze it for soup or stir-fry at some future date.
  • Mince some garlic, heat some olive oil over medium-high heat
  • Saute the zucchini and garlic for 2-3 minutes until the zucchini is tender
  • Top it with whatever sauce you would use on your big bowl of spaghetti

If you can believe it, this is even faster and easier than making regular spaghetti, not to mention lower in calories (zucchini only have 13 calories per half-cup serving), lower in carbs, and packed with all the zucchini goodness like folate, potassium, and vitamins A and C.  If you have yellow squash, you can do the same with the yellow squash – or best of all, mix the two for a really colorful and easy dinner!

3 Responses to “Don’t know what to do with all your zucchini?”


  1. 1 Sarah July 26, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    I’m trying out zucchini latkes tonight. Otherwise, I’ve been giddy enjoying the abundance of fresh, delicious produce from my garden and the local farmer’s markets. I’m loving summertime!

  2. 2 Claudia July 30, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Perfect timing! A fellow yogini brought zucchini to class to share and I took two home, just made a stir fry and was about to email you for zucchini suggestions. How long do you think the cubed center will keep in the freezer?

  3. 3 Capri Roth July 30, 2010 at 3:13 pm

    At least 3 months or so, but if you have them in freezer bags and push out all the air they will keep longer.

    If you are looking for more suggestions, Sarah’s zucchini latkes sound delicious to me! I’ve made them once or twice – the key is to squeeze out absolutely as much water as you can…. I like to eat them with some pesto sauce, but they’d be delicious with applesauce too, I’m sure – just like potato latkes.


Leave a comment