My Saratoga Post

Hudson River

I recently returned from my too-short summer vacation to Saratoga Springs.  As some readers already know, I go to Saratoga pretty much every year, and it is absolutely my favorite place to be.  Its my family place, a relaxing place, a great food town, a great gambling town, a great parks town, and a great music town.  Those are basically all my favorite things.  You can see some photos from my trip by clicking the flickr box on the top right of my blog page.

This post will be a recap of my trip to Saratoga, and a potential guide of things to do (or not do) if you ever venture there yourself.

Days in Saratoga: 11

Days at the Racetrack: 10

Moneys Won 8/5 – 8/13: $450

Moneys Lost 8/14 – 8/15: $430 (see: things not to do.)

Number of Danny Meyer’s Shake Shack Black and White Milkshakes: 2

Number of Mineral Baths at the Roosevelt Baths and Spa: 4

Number of Saratoga Sparkling Waters Downed: at least 30, I’m very effervescent now.

Number of Drinks from Various Spring Taps Around Town: 5 (Big Red, Congress, Governor, High Rock, Hathorn 1)

Number of Meals at Sabina’s Wood Fired Restaurant: 4

Number of Meals at The Beekman Street Bistro: 1

Number of Meals I Wish I Could Eat at the Beekman Street Bistro: Infinite

Number of Times I Went to Hatties and Ate Corn on the Cob and Thought about Breaking My Vegetarianism to Try Some Fried Chicken: 1

Number of Parks Visited: 3 (Congress Park, Saratoga Spa State Park, Saratoga National Historical Park/Battlefield)

Number of Harps on Stage at the Saratoga Harp Colony Gala: 24 (Side Note: the concert was in the brand new Zankel Music Center at Skidmore College – this room is stunning, the sound is incredible, and the wall behind the stage is left open/screened so you can watch the twilight dim along the trees as the concert progresses, really just an outstanding venue)

Number of Mosquito Bites Received While Sitting on the Lawn and Watching the Philadelphia Orchestra Play the Ode to Joy at SPAC: 2

Number of New Apple Varieties tried: 1, called “Paula Red”, from a roadside stand between Schuylerville and Saratoga.  Also recommend the cider donuts from said stand.

Number of Visits to the Mall: Zero

Number of Walks Downtown: 12

Number of Middle-Aged Drunk People on Caroline Street: Too Many to Count

Number of Single-Malt Scotches at 9 Maple Ave: 158

Number of Ben and Jerry’s Ice Cream Cones Consumed: One, Black Raspberry Fro-Yo in a Sugar Cone

Bonus Link: NY Times Article featuring my DAD at the Roosevelt Baths.

4 Responses to “My Saratoga Post”


  1. 1 Courtney Robinson August 19, 2010 at 11:31 am

    Capri,

    I used to spend summers in Saratoga as well. We used to rent an apt. in the house across from the Track owned by Sam Riddle who was the owner of Man of War. I have always loved Saratoga and even though I don’t get to go there as much anymore, it will always have a special place in my heart. Whether it is the Morning workouts at the track, dinner at Gaffney’s, a show at SPAC or listening to Reggie’s Red Hot Feet Warmer’s as they stroll around the track during the racing day Saratoga is the best town to be in.

    Courtney

    Thought you might like this.

  2. 2 Capri Roth August 19, 2010 at 11:39 am

    Great Video, thanks for sharing! Sam Riddle’s house is a beautiful one, I’ve walked by it many times.

  3. 3 Blind Willow Book Shop August 19, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    that ‘harp colony’ photo is so great in so many ways.. the tops of those seats! this whole thing makes me jealous

  4. 4 Emily August 19, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I also LOVE Saratoga. Skidmore was my top college… but alas, I didn’t not have the cash monies. Tuition was already above 40K a year in 2003 😦


Leave a Reply

