Pesto, Goat Cheese, Vegetable Tart

Last night I made this absolutely slammin’ tart for dinner for my friend Loraine, a recent vegetarian, and BD and me.  Does it look good to you?  If not, you may as well never return to this blog again, because it was one of the most delicious dinners I’ve made in a long while. 

This tart was in the style of “semi homemade,” a food network show that I absolutely hate and never watch, but a philosophy which I sort of subscribe to.  Sometimes, you just do not have time to make every little thing from scratch.  And there are about a zillion products at the store that are intended to make the life of a home cook a little easier.  The one I used for this tart was frozen puff pastry dough.  Easy as pie. Or puff pastry.

I started by thawing the puff pastry dough, rolling it out, and then cutting it into three pieces.  I topped it first with a thin layer of my basic pesto, the recipe to which can be found here, then with some herbed goat cheese and another thin layer of pesto.

The tarts were subsequently topped with zucchini and tomatos, both of which had been salted and let rest on a paper towel to drain out some of the water.  This technique is very helpful when you want to use vegetables in any kind of baked dish, because otherwise they can tend to get mushy.  I hated eggplant until I learned to salt it and drain it before cooking with it.  Just be sure to wipe the veggies down with the towel to remove any remaining salt before cooking with them! 

Finally, I sprinkled some italian-style herbs (oregano, sage, thyme, rosemary) on top, and a light sprinkling of grated romano cheese, and the tarts were ready to go in the oven.

400F for 20 minutes, and you will have a delightful, and EASY to make, dinner.  I’d say start to finish, it took me 30 minutes or so, not including the thawing time for the puff pastry.

1 Response to “Pesto, Goat Cheese, Vegetable Tart”


  1. 1 wendy January 20, 2010 at 9:39 am

    OMG!!!! So YUMMY!!!!! I may have to get the stuff to make more…and more…and more…


Leave a Reply

