A Holiday Feast

Okay, so hopefully my holiday dinner was no ones last supper, but it was quite a feast.  I planned this menu for months, and ended up with a pretty nice spread, if I do say so myself.


We started with a cheese plate, potato & garlic pastry puff thingys, and stuffed figs.  The figs were stuffed with chevre then roasted for about 15 minutes at 375F, and served with honey.  I love fresh figs, and this is pretty much the end of the fresh fig season so I figured it was important to get them while the getting was good.


From there we moved on to the soup. I used a recipe for butternut squash soup that I’ve used a few dozen times, except that I wanted to make this vegan friendly and I used coconut milk instead of cream or milk. I also didn’t have a couple of the required spices on hand, so I ended up using fresh ginger, nutmeg, and red curry powder as the seasonings. It was a delicious combination, topped off with glazed cranberries and candied pecans.

The “main course” was two dishes. First, I served miniature versions of a vegetable strudel. The recipe for the strudel can be found here.  I served the mini strudels along side a simple mache salad dressed with olive oil and white balsamic vinegar. Its funny how sometimes the simplest salad can be a perfect fresh bite alongside a hearty meal.

For the filling, I used baby portabella mushrooms, along with green and yellow squash, and asparagus, sauteed with some garlic and rosemary. The filling was mixed with egg and parmesan cheese to bind it, and then put into phyllo pockets (much to my friends amazement. wanna impress people? make things using phyllo). Thank god for frozen vegetables, because I think asparagus goes perfectly in this strudel, but there is no good fresh asparagus to be found at this time of year.


The second part of the “main course” was skewers of homemade seitan that had been fried and glazed with a maple, orange, ginger, and cayenne glaze. Making homemade seitan is like, the least fun cooking I have ever done, but the results are extremely rewarding. I made buffalo-wing-style seitan about a week ago and it was so delicious. This was much more subdued, but very hearty and I don’t think the meat-eaters really missed the meat.


And like all meals I make, this one ended with a delicious fruit-based dessert. I made apple and pear crisps with cinnamon and brown sugar and everything nice. The best thing about crisps is that you don’t need a recipe and it doesn’t matter what you do it’ll still taste delicious. But, if you are so inclined:

Pear and Apple Crisp (for two, but this is really scale-able) 

  • 1 apple, washed, cored, cut into big pieces
  • 1 pear, washed, cored, cut into big pieces
  • 1 Tbsp cinnamon
  • 2 Tbsp granulated sugar (1)
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice or orange juice
  • 1/4 cup butter, cold
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar (2)
  1. Preheat Oven to 350F
  2. Toss apple & pear with cinnamon, sugar (1), and juice
  3. Plce fruit mix in a small baking dish
  4. Using a food processor, mixer, or your hands, mix the remaining ingredients together to make topping
  5. Top the fruit with the butter and sugar mix
  6. Bake 45 minutes until bubbly and hot
2 Responses to “A Holiday Feast”


  1. 1 Claudia December 27, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    An excellent meal indeed, as always 🙂 Thanks!

  2. 2 Wendy December 28, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Yummy looking!!!
    Please don’t tell me you actually set those little men up…


Leave a Reply

