Being well-fed by others: Bruschetta Pizza in California

BD and I are in California for the week, visiting our friends, and currently, spending a few days at Yosemite National Park.  I’ll have pictures up on Flickr maybe when we get back.  In the meantime, I thought I’d take advantage of the free internet and early morning quiet to tell you about some really good hospitality our friends Eleanor (commonly known as Eleanor THE BEST) and Paolo provided for us when we got to town.  In addition to putting us up in their place, they fed us a delicious dinner!  Paolo made this incredible california-style bruschetta pizza that I ate two and a half slices of even though I was kind of full!

I put in a recipe request, but for now I’ll have to simply guess at and describe how this was made, because Paolo was not interested in any kitchen help:

Bruschetta Pizza (the guess recipe)

  • Some kind of cheesy artisan bread, halved to make two pizzas
  • tomatoes, chopped
  • garlic, minced
  • basil, confetti-d
  • summer squash, thinly sliced
  • shredded cheddar-jack (?) cheese blend
  • chopped mixed greens tossed with a light balsamic & salad oil dressing
  1. Saute the tomatoes in the garlic over medium-low heat for a few minutes until they are slightly cooked but not totally broken down*
  2. Saute the squash until tender*
  3. Top the bread with tomatos, squash and cheese and bake at some reasonable temperature like 400 degrees for 5-7 minutes until the cheese is melted and bubbly.
  4. Remove from oven and top with lettuce salad and basil

*I suspect that the magic of this pizza might have been in the cooking of the tomatoes and squash, and though I could see Paolo maneuvering with these two pans, I have no idea what he was doing.

In any event, this pizza was incredible and I’m craving more already.  I’d have to say it might be the best thing we ate so far on this trip – although I had an amazing watermelon salad & macaroni and cheese dinner at Farmer Brown’s in San Francisco on Wednesday night.

Speaking of Wednesday night, I should also take this opportunity to give a “shout out” to Paolo’s band, The Mumlers, who we went to see play after dinner.  They were super entertaining and they are going on tour with the Black Heart Procession in a few weeks, stopping at several places on the East Coast.  If you are an east-coast, music-loving reader of this blog, go ahead and check them out.  Their myspace is linked above, but you can also find their tunes on iTunes, including some iTunes exclusive tracks.

Here is a picture of Paolo enjoying his creation, just before he spit it on me from laughing so hard.  Luckily my camera escaped unscathed….

0 Responses to “Being well-fed by others: Bruschetta Pizza in California”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

