Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes

Last weekend I had a task: several dozen vegan red velvet cupcakes for my friends David & Maggy’s wedding.  They had already arranged for a traditional wedding cake, but wanted to make sure they could accommodate any dietarily restricted friends & family who wanted to partake.  I had to preface my offer for cupcakes by making clear that I am not a baker by trade, and although I do plenty of baking, I definitely do not know how to frost things or decorate or make it look like a “pro” job.  But David and Maggy had no fear of my ineptitude and asked me to go for it anyway!

So, I did.  I baked and I baked and I baked some more.  And I iced and I iced and I iced some more.  And then I topped, and topped some more.  And it was very fun and relaxing.  That is what I love about baking is that it is very methodical and repetitive and that is very soothing to me.  

I adapted my cupcake recipe from “Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero.  This is probably the best vegan cupcake cookbook ever.  I don’t know if its the only one, but even if there are others, they are unlikely to be as good as this one.  It kind of makes me want to buy Veganomicon.  Do any of you have it?  What’s the verdict?  Worth the investment & space on my bookshelf?  

For the icing I have my own “secret” recipe, that is, in fact, not perfect, so I’m not inclined to post it, but if you want it, you can leave a note and I’ll send it to you.  Basically it consists of vegan cream cheese, vegan sour cream, earth balance, vanilla extract, and powdered sugar.  It tastes pretty good but it got VERY melty in the hot August sun last weekend.

I topped 2/3 of the cupcakes with chopped toasted pecans, and 1/3 with red & white sugar sprinkles in case anyone was averse to pecans.  

In any event, the cupcakes were great, and I saw people going back for seconds and thirds, so other people must have liked them too!

4 Responses to “Vegan Red Velvet Cupcakes”


  1. 1 giespeas August 27, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Mmmmm these look lovely. And so neat too!

  2. 2 carolynmittens August 27, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    I have Veganomicon – it’s good, but I will say it’s a bit on the mild side, flavor-wise. I just like really spicy flavorful food, like Indian or Thai, and Veganomicon is a bit more like an American comfort food cookbook. It definitely has some exciting recipes, don’t get me wrong, but the majority of them are pretty tame. So if that type of food is your style, this book will be a vegan Godsend!

  3. 3 Adorable Girlfriend August 28, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    I love, love, love, red velvet cupcakes!

  4. 4 linette September 14, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    I like Veganomicon. There are a few recipes in Veganomicon that I make somewhat regularly. Once of my favorites is the black bean burger.


Leave a Reply

