Nature’s Bounty Appreciation Post

These are but a few of the several pounds of wild raspberries I have picked over the last few days.  They are sweet and tart, and somewhat firmer and less delicate than the ones you can buy at the store.  I have an abundance of them, and am not entirely sure what I should do with them (if anything other than just eat them fresh).  Should I make jam?  a tart?  eat them on ice cream?  In the time it has taken me to type out this short blog post, I have finished the bowl pictured above, so maybe I’m getting ahead of myself trying to brainstorm.  Well, I’m sure there will be another havest tomorrow, so your suggestions are very welcome!

4 Responses to “Nature’s Bounty Appreciation Post”


  1. 1 Katie Bee July 20, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Squish them up with your fingers shouting “OH THE BOUNTY, OH THE BEAUTIFUL, BEAUTIFUL BOUNTY” ? I mean, that is just what I might do if I were in your situation. … I mean, eat them on ice cream! I would mos def eat them on ice cream.

  2. 2 Sarina July 21, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    I’ve been eating wild raspberries as they cross my path as well. I’d like to pick enough to make some jam or homemade ice cream, but a lot of the berries are so small it would take me all day to collect anything very useful. I guess I’ll just stick to picking them for immediate consumption!

  3. 3 Emily July 24, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    My high school boyfriend’s family had a second house on a farm out in NW New Jersey not far from PA. Some of my best memories of being there was waking up on the weekends to a delicious country breakfast, almost always containing pancakes with freshly picked raspberries (baked in, not on top). It still remains one of my most prominent memories linked to taste. I highly suggest raspberry pancakes this weekend!

  4. 4 Joyce August 14, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    The locals in this area call these “wine berries.” All I know is that they are heavenly! What a great picture!


Leave a Reply

