The Sweetest Salad: Roasted Apricots, Greens, Almonds, and Honey Vinaigrette

Tonight was a night for salad, and I was determined to make one that would be light but also satisfying.  We had a greens mixture of arugula and spinach, which was a good combination – the arugula is spicy enough to stand up to many other flavors.  I had been working on a honey vinaigrette since having that delicious salad at Vignola in Portland, Maine.  The recipe I settled on is about as simple as it could possibly get, and it was perfect.  As any guest at my house for dinner knows, I happen to like fruit in my salad.  And I had a half dozen delicious and ripe apricots, so I decided to roast them and add them to the salad.  Finally, all salads benefit from nuts, as far as I’m concerned (for that matter, I think almost all food benefits from nuts), so I added some toasted slivered almonds.  Instructions for all are behind the cut.

Honey Vinaigrette

  • 1/2 Tbsp  olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp honey

Whisk well.

Roasted Apricots

  • Four apricots
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  1. Preheat oven to 450 F
  2. Halve and pit apricots
  3. place cut side up in a baking dish
  4. brush tops with olive oil
  5. Bake 20 minutes until apricots have begun to carmelize
  6. Remove from oven and allow to cool 10-15 minutes

Toasted Almond Slices

  1. Place a handful of raw sliced almonds into dry frying pan
  2. toast over medium heat until almonds begin to turn golden brown, stirring regularly
  3. Promptly remove from heat 
0 Responses to “The Sweetest Salad: Roasted Apricots, Greens, Almonds, and Honey Vinaigrette”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

