Sunday Brunch in the Rose Garden

This morning BD and I had brunch plans with Claudia and Dan.  As previously discussed, brunch is my favorite meal, and usually I look forward to eggs or waffles or something along those lines.  Our original plan was to hit up Syb’s deli, but when I got up this morning I knew it would be a gorgeous morning.  What better place to enjoy it than Allentown’s rose garden?

BD and I stopped at Wegmans for some simple items: bagels, cream cheese, fresh fruit, and a bialy to split between the four of us.  Talk about the “atmosphere.”  The roses were in full bloom for the most part, and although that area of the park is undergoing construction at the moment it was hardly noticeable from our spot in the shade.  

We got to it, munching and chitchatting and watching for visitors.

We had one especially curious one… it ventured close, but didn’t actually join us for the meal

 

 

 

Dan, who lives in Brooklyn, luxuriated in the grass, which you don’t see much of in his neighborhood.  

Claudia, BD, and I agreed that brunch in the Rose Garden is going to be a regular activity.  I’m already thinking about what I can cook for next week since it (hopefully) will not be a last minute decision.

7 Responses to “Sunday Brunch in the Rose Garden”


  1. 1 Joyce June 7, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Great idea. Sunday Picnic in the Rose Garden. I like it. I enjoyed a picnic today, although not in public space, with salad greens from the Plaza Market. Since I can tell you like good food from other postings, they were AMAZING. If you are available on Wednesdays at lunch, check out the Plaza Growers Market on Hamilton between 8th and 9th Streets. Wendy from the now closed Balasia was there with some fabulous curry hummus and baked goods from Vegan Treats.

  2. 2 capri June 7, 2009 at 7:25 pm

    thanks for the suggestion Joyce – sadly I don’t really get a “lunch break” going between my jobs and school, so the Plaza Grower’s Market remains just a dream for me… sounds like the Hamilton Street lunchtime scene is all the rage though with concerts and vegan treats and salad greens (oh my).

  3. 3 Emily June 9, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    Now closed Balasia?!? What?!?

  4. 4 capri June 9, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    Yeah she closed. No word yet on re-opening. I was sad to see her close, of course, but to be honest it doesn’t affect me that much because how often can I afford to go out for a $40 dinner?

  5. 5 Emily June 11, 2009 at 1:04 pm

    I never ate there for dinner, also because I couldn’t afford their dinner. I didn’t mind splurging for a $15 brunch once and awhile though. I still contend they’re the best brunches I’ve ever had.

  6. 6 Andrew Kleiner June 12, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Good Idea Capri. The Rose Garden is a wonderful place. Rock on.

  7. 7 Megan June 13, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    You inspired us to picnic at the Bethlehem Rose Garden, which looks similarly gorgeous right now… the expression that comes to mind is “rose explosion.”


Leave a Reply

