a crêpe-y saturday

 

Claudia came over this morning and she, BD, and I had a feast of crêpes.  It was an all-morning and into-the afternoon affair, after which we all lounged in the living room and watched a cute movie called “Bottle Shock” about Napa Valley wines, followed by a late afternoon trip to close-out at the Allentown Farmer’s Market.  The total effect was exactly the kind of Saturday I wanted to have amidst the thunderstorms both literal and figurative.

The crêpes speak for themselves, I think (or at least the pictures do), so I won’t take too much time writing, but I will just outline what we made:

The Fillings:

  • Asparagus & Gouda 
  • Strawberries & Honey
  • Apricots, Almond Extract, & Brown Sugar
  • Apples, Brown Butter, Brown Sugar, Sliced Almonds, Cinnamon

Accompaniments:

  • Fresh Whipped Cream (a touch of powdered sugar and vanilla extract to flavor)
  • PA Honey
  • Cinnamon & Sugar
  • Lemon Juice

And without further ado, here are the beautiful results: 

 

     

 

 

 

 

Then there was some batter leftover that wasn’t quite big enough for the crêpe maker, so we invented a new item: Scrambled Crepe, shown here with apples, whipped cream, honey and cinnamon…

 

For the record, my “dream life” is that I will move to a warm place and open my own crêperie, which will feature many foods, but especially crêpes.  I love them.  This should become a regular routine.  

The crepe batter, for anyone who wants to venture there themselves was simple:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • dash of salt

all mixed until there were no lumps

8 Responses to “a crêpe-y saturday”


  1. 1 Sara May 17, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Wow, Capri! Your crepes look incredible! I love crepes but haven’t had them for a while.

    The absolute best crepes we ever ate were in a little creperie in Quebec City a couple years ago – Le Casse-Crêpe Breton‎. Outstanding crepes – breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Here’s a link to a picture:
    http://www.travelmuse.com/articles/quebec-city/dining

    Quebec City is a delightful place – only a ten hour drive from the Lehigh Valley but you feel like you’ve traveled to old France. Wonderful place to visit mid-summer.

    Be sure to make some crepes again when peaches are in season, all juicy and fresh. Crepes with freshly ripe peaches and whipped cream (just like you made it) are superb! One of my favorites.

    Thanks for a great post, and a nice crepe recipe.

  2. 2 capri May 17, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I *love* Quebec City, and although I have trouble planning trips anywhere colder than PA, I would love to go back!

    Also, YES to the peaches, I don’t know if I would have thought to make a crepe with them, but now I will for sure!

  3. 3 Katie Bee May 17, 2009 at 5:09 pm

    omg. WANT.

    I will try this tomorrow!

  4. 4 Emily May 17, 2009 at 7:46 pm

    There’s a small chain (franchise?) around here called the Crepevine. It’s our favorite place for brunch around here, other than the place that only does breakfast/brunch/lunch with pretty decent # of veg-friendly options.

  5. 5 capri May 17, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Katie: Post Pictures!

    Emily: Is that the place we went with you guys when we visited? If so that place was extremely rad and the crepes were delicious. My jealousy knows no bounds.

  6. 6 Emily May 18, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    OH! Duh! Yes, we did bring you to Crepevine. But now I have no excuse not to try my hand at my own. I see crepes in my future this weekend…

  7. 7 Sarina May 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Wow. Those pictures….were…too…much. The crepes look incredible!

  8. 8 Joyce June 7, 2009 at 6:28 pm

    Ever thought of opening a crepe stand on Hamilton Street in Allentown. The City has a few street vendor licenses that are still available. I have long dreamed of a creperia to sneak out to for a some quick and delicious street food — as in Paris. The missing piece is someone to do it!


Leave a Reply

