Springtime Sweet Potato Rolls

So the spring has sprung, as noted by Lehigh Lexicon and any other park wanderers this week.  I made an amazing discovery shortly after my last post – we have a device in the garage which is 1/2 leaf blower and 1/2 leaf-vacuum/shredder.  I have been hard at work clearing leaves and mulching and setting out bulbs and starting to sprout my vegetable and flower seeds, leaving little room for cooking.  I am also gearing up for “Capri and BD eat healthy 2k9” which basically means that we are going to eat less cheese and dairy, less pasta, less processed foods like chik’n patties and gimme lean, and more vegetables, nuts, fruits, and tofu/tempeh.  We haven’t really started yet mostly because we’re working our way through the fridge and pantry, but today I made us a pretty yummy lunch which also is pretty healthy.  Many good vegetarian restaurants offer some sort of squash spring roll, and mine is really not much different.  I used sweet potatoes because that’s what I had, but you could use any type of sweet squash or yam.  Here is the recipe.  

Springtime Sweet Potato Rolls

  • 1 sweet potato, baked until soft 
  • 1 Tbsp fresh chopped ginger
  • 2 Tbsp peanuts, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp peanut sauce
  • 1 cup (approximately) of thin rice noodles, soaked
  • pumpkin seeds 
  • rice paper wrappers

  1. Peel baked sweet potato and mash it with the chopped ginger and peanuts until smooth
  2. toss rice noodles with peanut sauce to lightly coat
  3. soak rice paper wrappers, one at a time, until soft (1-2 minutes) in cool water
  4. place 2-fingers width of rice noodles in middle of wrapper, spoon in sweet potato mash, roll rice paper and after the first roll, sprinkle on the pumpkin seeds, then continue rolling into spring rolls*

*I don’t know if this is the “proper” method for rolling spring rolls, but I just rolled them like a burrito.  bottom up over the filling, tuck the sides in, then continue to roll up towards the top.  They turned out just fine.

perfect lunch!  I made 6 rolls.  We ate 4 right now for our lunch and I’m hoping the other 2 will keep until tomorrow so I can eat them while I’m doing my schoolwork.

6 Responses to “Springtime Sweet Potato Rolls”


  1. 1 carolyn March 30, 2009 at 10:08 am

    woah, i made this exact thing on friday, complete with the “oracle” peanut sauce 🙂 well the inside was kind of different, i used sweet potatoes, thin apple slices, and mixed greens. the apple added such a nice refreshing little crunch. i ❤ spring rolls.

  2. 2 capri March 30, 2009 at 10:17 am

    holy YUM. I am going to be making more tonight and you better believe they will have apple slices in them! I’m also making some with tofu and bean sprouts and planning to try a papaya salad (this is tenetive depending what I find at the grocery store). Results will definitely be posted, but THANKS for the apple suggestion that sounds amazing.

  3. 3 Sarina March 30, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Those spring rolls sound delicious. I haven’t done this in a while, but a similar healthy dish I enjoy uses cabbage leaves. You wrap up sauteed squash, brown rice, peppers and ginger and steam it in the oven. Kind of like vegetarian halupki. 😉

  4. 4 capri March 30, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    whoa! that sounds awesome. !

  5. 5 Sammy March 30, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    Yeah i’ve never made any kind of roll like this before but i would definitely like to try these.

  6. 6 nikki April 10, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    OMG im making these they look sooooooooooooo good!


Leave a Reply

