Veggie Pizza

I’ll be honest with you, this might be my favorite thing that I’ve made since starting this blog.  BD’s mom gave us a pizza stone yesterday, and I could hardly wait to make a pizza on it.  Luckily, Kyle came over for band practice and to chill and watch the Oscars.  What food is better for hanging out and playing music and watching TV than pizza?  I can’t think of one!  

If you want to make your own dough you can find a recipe for pizza dough pretty much everywhere its just flour, water, yeast, salt, and olive oil.  My favorite recipe is from Peter Reinhart’s book “The Bread Baker’s Apprentice” and it is reprinted here.  Other options include buying a dough from the store or from a pizza parlor near you (most pizza shops will give or sell you a ball of dough if you ask).  

In any event I like a crisp crust, so I prebake my dough at 450 for about 6 minutes before topping it.  Once topped, the pizza should only take 8 minutes or so to bake.  

Tonight’s pizza featured a sauce made from scratch by processing roasted red peppers and sun dried tomatoes and a TINY bit of olive oil until the texture was not quite smooth, but somewhere between bruschetta and sauce.

On top of that: halved cherry tomatoes, artichoke hearts, roasted garlic (peel the cloves, toss them in olive oil and bake in a covered dish at 350 for 40 minutes), pine nuts, and feta cheese.  

Seriously this pizza was so good I wish we were eating a second one right now.  I’m thinking up next I am going to try making a “salad” pizza with the ingredients from my Arugula Salad as toppings.  I’ll be sure to post the results.  What are your favorite veggie toppings for pizza?

1 Response to “Veggie Pizza”


  1. 1 Katie Bee February 22, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Oddly enough, the best pizza dough recipe I’ve ever had was from Vogue magazine. I’m a fan of thick, soft crust, though, it’s just waaaay more filling!

    I didn’t think that those people even ate anything.

    My favorite toppings ever are mozzarella, parmesan and banana peppers! Oooh, wish I had a banana pepper right now …


Leave a Reply

