Teriyaki Tofu

Yes, those ARE more haricots vert, and in the background some jasmine rice.  I don’t know if I’ve ever blogged about it before, but I invested $25 in a rice cooker about a year ago, and it was possibly the best $25 I ever spent.  The rice steams perfectly and I don’t have to think about it or time it or anything… just pour in the rice, pour in the water, cover it and push a button.  I come back 25-30 minutes later and there it is, on the “keep warm” cycle, ready for me to pair it up with some other deliciousness.  Any kind of rice you want, too… okay I’ll stop now.

Tonight I did that and the rest of the meal took about 5 minutes to make.  The tofu was already marinated (tofu, drained, marinated for a while in teriyaki sauce… the longer the better), so all I had to do was stir fry the haricots vert and the tofu, then it was time to eat!  I stir fried the green beans and tofu separately because I like my green beans very al dente and I like my tofu to be caramelized which requires a higher heat and longer cook time.  

Also, this morning was so beautiful I almost forgot that I hate winter.  Here is the view from my kitchen window.

2 Responses to “Teriyaki Tofu”


  1. 1 Katie Bee February 5, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    that looks DELICIOUS. my dining hall tries very hard with its vegetarian selection, but i always end up falling back on the salad bar or cereal.

    oh, how i miss proper tofu.

  2. 2 capri February 5, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    Thanks Katie! I was fortunate in college to not even have dining halls, and greenwich village was full of veggie options to savor. You should write to the company that handles your dining services, maybe they will be receptive? Then again, cereal is not the WORST way to eat through college…


Leave a Reply

