Thai Thai II: A Mixed Bag

We went to Thai Thai II the other night, its the new thai restaurant on Main Street in Bethlehem.  I am all for thai food, it is probably my favorite ethnic cuisine, and I was looking forward to trying a new place.  

Let me start by saying the food was pretty good.  Additionally, the service was great and the room is lovely.  

BD and I each had an appetizer.

I had the golden triangle tofu, which was great – easily the highlight of the whole meal.  The tofu was fried perfectly, not greasy, hot, and served with a sweet and spicy dipping sauce that was very flavorful.   

BD had the vegetarian spring rolls which were also tasty, although nothing really different than what you’d get anywhere else.  The dipping sauce left much to be desired.

Our friends shared a large order of soup, and it got rave reviews.  It smelled awesome, and if we would go back again I would definitely consider ordering one of the vegetarian soups on the menu.

I think the entrees were where they missed the mark for us.  After the appetizer, I knew I couldn’t handle a very spicy dinner – so I ordered a vegetarian yellow curry, mild.  Yellow Curry is usually relatively mild on its own, which was the main reason I ordered it, but this came out quite hot.  The tofu was fried, which I thought was slightly problematic because it hindered the tofu from really sopping up the curry.  However, this might have really been a good thing in disguise since the curry was so spicy that more would not have necessarily been better.  On top of that, the portion of jasmine rice that came with the order was a little on the small side, so what otherwise would have been a palate-cooling component of the meal was finished all-too-soon.  

BD had a similar experience, he ordered the thai basil eggplant, and found that while flavorful, this dish was was also uncomfortably spicy for him.  Additionally, if the eggplant had been cut into smaller pieces the texture of the dish may have been improved.

We are both generally amenable to spicy foods, and its pretty unusual for either of us to find foods TOO spicy, but alas we did.

Unfortunately we were not the only ones at the table who experienced the heavy-handed spice, one of our friends twice took a bite of his meal only to feel his throat closing and eyes watering as a result of a big piece of thai chili peppers hitting the back of his tongue.  So the advice for anyone who gives it a try: be prepared for spice and look at what you are eating to make sure you don’t bite into a hot pepper!

And finally, the other low point for us was the price – the appetizers were around $8 each, the soup was $12 (not as bad as it sounds, it was split between several people), and the entrees probably averaged around $20.  Rather steep for curry and stir fry, in my opinion.  

In any event, this place is probably worth a try if your wallet can handle the damage and your palate can handle the heat…. it probably won’t make my regular rotation of local eateries, but I wouldn’t be opposed to a return visit for a special occasion.

6 Responses to “Thai Thai II: A Mixed Bag”


  1. 1 eric January 30, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    when i went there it wasn’t spicy enough!

    (yes i read your blog)

  2. 2 Susan January 30, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks for the honest review. It’s almost not worth reading the reviews in the Call, since they only print positive experiences, and their review of this place was glowing. What’s the point of having restaurant reviews if you don’t print the negative ones?

  3. 3 Emily January 31, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    Fried tofu in curry is definitely one of my pet peeves too. I always get a twinge of disappointment when this happens to me at new thai places.

  4. 4 capri February 2, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Eric – nice to e-see you! I thought about the spice factor while making my post because I know that depending on who is in the kitchen the spiciness of dishes can vary greatly.

    Susan – I feel the same way – most of my restaurant experiences are mixed, rarely all bad and rarely all good. I like to have some idea what to expect when I go somewhere, and the mcall reviews are never a good indicator of anything except the price range.

    Emaily – I’ve never encountered fried tofu in a curry before, but man I hope I don’t see it again!

    Thanks for the comments, all!

  5. 5 Stephen J Barron, Jr. February 10, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Thanks for linking my blog to your page. I have gotten hits from your readers. I enjoy reading about food. Fat men love food.

    Thanks again.

    All the Best,

    Stephen J. Barron, Jr.

  6. 6 Stephen J Barron, Jr. February 10, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Oh and for good appetizers it does not matter the cost. A good appetizer oftentimes is better than the meal itself.


Leave a Reply

