Veggie Shrimp?

Tonight I am going to attempt to cook Vegetarian Prawns for the first time.  I haven’t eaten a shrimp or prawn in about 17 years, so it will be like a new experience for me.  I am keeping my fingers crossed… updates to come!

UPDATE: wtf is a gratin pan and why can’t I buy one at the grocery store?

UPDATE 2: okay a gratin pan looks like this:

UPDATE 3: I am not into the seafood smell.

UPDATE 4: okay so this turned out pretty awesome, I think.  I was kind of creeped out by the fishy smell and the jiggly-ness of the fake prawns, which were totally realistic looking.  I’m told that the sweetness and texture were more similar to scallops though than to shrimp.  In any event, I marinated them in olive oil and white wine and salt & pepper for a little while.

In the meantime I made a mix of butter, garlic, shallots, crushed red pepper, lemon zest, lemon juice, bread crumbs, and egg replacer.  I put the shrimps into a baking dish, poured the marinade over, spread the butter mixture over the top, and baked it for about 10 minutes at 350 degrees, then broiled it for another minute.  

I served them over angel hair that had been tossed in olive oil and lemon juice, and it was pretty good.  I would probably make it again, although I think I’d serve it with a fettucini or linguini instead of angel hair.

The rest of the meal was like this:

Cheese plate – I toasted up a baguette, and served a sharp vermont cheddar with apple butter, which was a great combo and that went quickly

A mushroom flatbread – just flatbread with a mushroom puree, some truffle oil, and a little bit of mozzarella cheese.

Greens Salad – I made the standard salad of Arugula and Pears and Walnuts in balsamic vinaigrette

 

Getting Busy

Getting Busy

I told my friends I’d make them blog famous.

 

UPDATE 4: BD tells me he wasn’t really into the vegetarian prawns, although we think maybe we’ll get another bag of them in the spring so we can try Shrimp on the Barbie.  I love to Barbecue, readers of the blog can look forward to many posts about grilling vegetarian style.

0 Responses to “Veggie Shrimp?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

