veggie haters

BD’s brother is a notorious vegetable hater.  I asked BD if we could invite him over for dinner tomorrow before bar trivia and he said, “well, he doesn’t eat anything we eat…” which, from what I know of him, is true.  That said, I feel as though I am up to the task of making a vegetable dish so delicious that even the most stubborn of vegetable haters would ask for seconds.  I don’t know if this blog has any readers yet, but just in case some readers show up sometime, I was wondering – do you have any “no fail” veggie dishes?

7 Responses to “veggie haters”


  1. 1 Angie November 18, 2008 at 9:30 am

    Hi Capri,

    I like your blog! I am going to buy some cavatelli today at the supermarket!
    As far as “no fail” veggie dish, try penne pasta with pesto sauce, sun-dried tomatoes, and walnuts. It’s hearty, and tastes great. I make pesto in the food processor with fresh basil, olive oil, garlic, pine nuts, parmesan cheese. I buy the sun dried tomatoes packed in a jar with oil. The ingredients are kinda pricey, but it’s worth it.

  2. 2 capri November 18, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Angie,

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I *love* pesto, and usually make about a liter of it to freeze during the summer while my basil is at its peak. I’ve never tried it with sun dried tomatoes and walnuts, but I bet that would be delicious, in fact, I think I may try it this week!

  3. 3 Sarina November 18, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    There are a few veggie haters in my family, too. It makes it impossible to make a meal when we’re all on vacation together.

    To go with Angie’s pasta, you could make mini-pizzas. Get some pre-made dough or tortillas, brush with olive oil, top with sliced mushrooms, fresh garlic, zucchini, red peppers and globs of ricotta cheese and crushed pine nuts, then bake. They’re pretty healthy and very tasty.

  4. 4 AD November 24, 2008 at 5:50 pm

    Try the Candle Cafe cookbook. Wegman’s usually has some of the more unusual ingredients. This is the best veggie cookbook ever printed.

  5. 5 Dick Nepon November 24, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Capri,

    Good for you, blogging!

    My oldest daughter is a vegetarian, and we have often eaten together. There is also a Kosher vegetarian Chinese restaurant in Philly, “Kingdom of Vegetarians” that makes food taste like things beside which it is not. Scallion pancakes with a ginger sauce are tremendous, and as easy to make as you please. In fact, remembering your upbringing, Hanuka pancakes with applesauce always works.

    Many ways to make things with mushrooms are great, including mushroom burgers,(especially a large portabello) and pasta with mushrooms and tomato sauce. I also make a pasta with spinach and mushrooms and scallions, with a vegetable broth, thickened with your choice of starch, flour, or whatever.

    How about Uncle Ben’s Long Grain and wild rice or your own interpretation? I always loved it. Baked beans are everyone”s favorite, but black bean soup is wonderful. Guacamole. Celery and peanut butter. Matzah balls with vegetable broth instead of chicken soup. Lentil soup, turkish style. All kinds of soups, especially with a hearty bread to dip. Felafel!

    Grilled and / or roasted veggies, like red peppers, garlic, onions are great, even for a meat lover like me. They also go well on pizza.

    Baked apples is my Mom’s favorite. It doesn’t need to be sweetened.

    Fresh fruit cup.

    Green beans casserole with mushroom soup and topped with fried onions is always welcome.

    Almost anything fried and breaded, not healthy maybe, but very edible especially with a garlicky sauce.

    There are plenty of foods that can be put out for buffet. How about veggie Chili, three beans, etc. Fondue dips.

    No excuse to not eat with vegetarian friends! And, I am known for being a meat & potatoes guy.

  6. 6 capri November 24, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    AD: I don’t have the candle cafe cookbook, but I have long coveted it (maybe BD will read this comment and have a hint for my birthday gift. HINT HINT).

    Mr. Nepon, Thanks for visiting my blog! It always delights me when a familiar face shows up on my blog, in an internet showing of the faces sort of way. Your suggestions are appreciated, and include some of my favorite foods, like veggie matzoh ball soup and falafel!

    As a vegetarian for the last 20 years (which is virtually my whole life), its easy to lose perspective about what veggie foods will win over the hearts and stomachs of vegetable haters, and there are some really great suggestions here.

  7. 7 Dick Nepon November 25, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Glad to read your stuff. I appreciate a good writer. Sometime I’ll make suggestions for how to make a living as a writer in ways that allow you to still be yourself. We’ll talk.


Leave a Reply

