Homemade Cavatelli

I made that post the other day about making cavatelli for my grandmother, and that night I used frozen Cavatelli – its relatively cheap and you can’t beat the convenience.  This afternoon though I had some extra time and was trying to inventory what’s in the kitchen before I go to the grocery store this weekend.  I noticed that I still had leftover ricotta cheese that was getting to the point of “use it or lose it,” so I thought I’d try to make some cavatelli by hand.  I’ve seen it made before, so I knew it would be pretty fast and simple, and I have to say it was a pleasant surprise.  It only took me two tries before I got it right!  

Here is my “final” recipe which will yield about 1 lb. of cavatelli, you could easily double or triple it and freeze what you don’t use, cavatelli freezes really well!  If you do make a bigger recipe, just keep in mind when you are rolling it out that you want to work with pieces that are manageable, approximately 1/2 pound sections seemed to work well for me.  Also, this dough will dry out pretty fast when left uncovered, so whatever you aren’t working with should be left in the plastic.

 

Homemade Cavatelli

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 lb. Ricotta Cheese
  • 1 egg, beaten
  1. Place about 1 1/4 cups of the flour into a large bowl, and make a well in the center
  2. Pour the cheese and egg into the middle of the well, and gradually work in the flour to form the dough
  3. The dough should not be sticky, so if you need you can add more flour.  Keep in mind though that the softer the dough is, the lighter and more tender the cavatelli will be, so only add the flour necessary to take away the stickiness of the dough
  4. Lightly flour a work surface and knead the dough until it is smooth.  Wrap in plastic and let rest at room temperature for about a half hour
  5. Pat the dough into a round and divide into 1/2 lb. pieces (doesn’t have to be exact).
  6. Using both hands, roll the dough out into a rope about 1/4 inch thick
  7. Cut the rope into bite size pieces (1/2 inch?)
  8. Using your finger, push down on the cavatellis and pull towards you so that the pasta curls up and forms the cavatelli shape.  
  9. Let dry on a lightly floured pan for about 30 minutes before freezing or cooking

It might look complicated, but this is one of the easiest pastas I have ever made, and other than the resting and drying it took about 10 minutes to actually make the dough and roll it out/shape it.

0 Responses to “Homemade Cavatelli”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

