Cavatelli & Peas

Last night my boyfriend, known to this blog and friends as “bd,” went with me to my grandmother’s house for dinner.  My grandmother is an exceptional cook.  Nothing that has ever come from her hands or kitchen has been anything other than delicious, and she always inspires me to try new things when I am cooking.  I try to go to her house for dinner at least once a week, because luckily for me, my family rules and I like to hang out with them.  In any event, last night I decided she deserved a break from cooking, and came up with this very simple, mostly healthy, and quick to make dish that I could make for the four of us (me, bd, my sister, and my grandmother).

Cavatelli with sweet peas and garlic sauce:

  • 2 bags frozen Cavatelli
  • 4 cloves of garlic, chopped very fine
  • 4 Tbsp olive oil or butter
  • 1 cup vegetable bouillon
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 3 cups sweet peas
  • salt, pepper, crushed red pepper to taste
  • parmesan cheese to taste

 

  1. Bring a big pot of water to a boil, add cavatelli, cook according to package directions until slightly undercooked – usually about 5-6 minutes
  2. In a large saute pan, heat oil or butter over medium heat, then add garlic and saute gently for 2 minutes until the oil/butter is infused with the garlic flavor and the garlic has softened.  If you use butter or earth balance you will get a creamier sauce, and I recommend that over olive oil – but if you are more into olive oil, go for it.
  3. Add vegetable broth and white wine, and cook uncovered for 10 minutes until the sauce has reduced. 
  4. Add peas to sauce and cook 1-2 minutes.
  5. Add drained cavatelli to the saute pan and stir through.  Toss with parmesan cheese.  

This dish got the thumbs up from everyone at the dinner table.  We ate it with a simple dinner salad and some cinnamon-sugar apples for desert.  If you don’t care for cavatelli (you are crazy), but you could replace it with a box of whatever dry pasta you like, I would go for shells or bow-ties with this recipe.  If you wanted to get some healthy protein in, it would be super easy to saute and add some Morningstar Farms Chik’n Strips to this dish.

I’ll try to usually post a photograph of the things I make, but not today (because I didn’t take my camera to dinner).  Today, I’ll post a picture of a partly-burned out redwood tree from my recent trip to California.  This was taken on Mount Tamalpais, just north of San Francisco.  Just for fun.

0 Responses to “Cavatelli & Peas”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

